About us

Committed to our soil since 1828, we pay attention to the old vines. Over the years, we tried many varieties, selecting those which complimented the terroir. Blaufränkisch, harkening back to it’s heritage, thrives in our biodynamicaly farmed soil. Clay, lime, gneiss and mica. Boundless but rooted. Refined and ingrained as the task of our time, growth within. Weninger is more.

  • "Excellent purity. If you like Baga, Barbera or Cabernet Franc from the Loire, the Hochäcker is a lovey alternative from Austria’s Blaufränkisch paradise."

    Stephan Reinhardt, Parker
  • "Full-bodied, silky and vital, with finely  grained tannins this rare and expressive wine delivers a long and tension-filled finish and reveals a great purity, concentration and mineral freshness. Excellent structure and aging potential"

    Stephan Reinhardt, Parker
  • "Our hands-down favorite was the 2008 Weninger Hochäcker from Mittelburgenland, a graceful, harmonious wine with bright, complex flavors of fruits, flowers and spices."

    Eric Asimov, The New York Times
  • "Franz Reinhard Weninger an outstanding producer."

    Decanter
  • "An impressive Blaufrankisch from Weninger. Just beautiful: rich yet quite elegant." 

    Jamie Goode

History

  • Rózsa_2017_dt

    History

     

    In the town chronicles of Horitschon, the first mention of the name Weninger at Florianigasse 11 is in 1828. The Weninger family cultivates a mixed farm, which is typical for Central Burgenland: it has five cows, 25 hectares of arable land, and five hectares of vineyards. The family buys its first tractor after World War II, but as a boy Franz Ludwig Weninger still learned to work the land with a horse.

     

    The Thresher and Rosa’s Promise

    In the 1930’s the family orders a mobile threshing machine, which – due to its size and the resulting unwieldiness in Horitschon’s narrow streets – is sent straight back. Great-grandfather Franz sues the company but loses. And the farm goes up for auction.

    Six years later, “Uncle Franz”, who had emigrated to America in 1928, manages to raise the money to save the farm. In 1951 he visits Austria for for the first time since he left, waives all claims to the farm, and gives it to Ludwig and Rosa. Out of gratitude, Grandmother Rosa promises Uncle Franz to name her first-born son after him. In 1983 Franz Ludwig Weninger – who because of another promise made by his mother Rosa is actually supposed to become a priest – takes over the family farm.

    Martina & Franz

    “After we took over the farm,” Martina Weninger remembers, “we realized that there was a whole new clientele for fine wines.” Franz Ludwig Weninger often compares the loamy soil on his best sites Hochäcker, Kirchholz, and Dürrau to Pomerol. When it comes to vinification, he opts for long maceration.

    Franz and Martina expand their business very quickly. Together with Attila Gere they found a winery in Southern Hungary in 1992 (currently 12 hectares), and in 1997 another one in Hungary close to the Austrian border in Sopron-Balf (currently 25 hectares). Over the years the family farm in Horitschon (currently 25 hectares) is transformed into an exclusively wine-growing operation. After 28 successful years, their son Franz Reinhard, who has been in charge of the Sopron-Balf winery since 2000, takes over the Horitschon estate together with Petra.

    0

Über uns

Petra und Franz

Seit 1828 unseren Böden verpflichtet, achten wir die alten Reben. Viele Sorten kamen, wenige blieben. Blaufränkisch, auf lebendigem biodynamisch bewirtschafteten Boden, erzählt munter über seine Herkunft. Lehm, Kalk, Gneis und Glimmer. Grenzenlos aber doch verwurzelt. Verfeinerung und Vertiefung als Aufgabe unserer Zeit,  Wachstum nach innen. Weninger ist mehr.

  • "Lieblingswein der Redaktion : 2013 Blaufränkisch Steiner Franz Weninger zeigt hier sein Gespür für die Spiegelung des Terroirs im Wein. Dieser wächst auf Schiefer und bringt daher eine feingliedrige Würze. Saftigkeit und Trinkfreude prägen ihn dazu."

    Steve Breitzke, GaultMillau
  • "Excellent purity. If you like Baga, Barbera or Cabernet Franc from the Loire, the Hochäcker is a lovey alternative from Austria’s Blaufränkisch paradise."

    Stephan Reinhardt, Parker
  • "Astreines Zeug" 

    Thomas Golenia, Cptn Cork
  • "Gar nichts für Marmeladentrinker"

    Manfred Klimek
  • "Full-bodied, silky and vital, with finely  grained tannins this rare and expressive wine delivers a long and tension-filled finish and reveals a great purity, concentration and mineral freshness. Excellent structure and aging potential"

    Stephan Reinhardt, Parker
  • „Das kann mit Fug und Recht als das Maß der Dinge bezeichnet werden – sympathisch, leidenschaftlich und höchst professionell. Gratulation!“

    Gault Millau Österreich

Geschichte

In der Horitschoner Ortschronik ist der Name Weninger erstmals 1828 in der Florianigasse 11 erwähnt. Die Familie Weninger als typische Landwirte im Mittelburgenland bewirtschaftet einen Mischbetrieb: 5 Kühe, 25 Hektar Ackerbau und 5 Hektar Weinbau. Der erste Traktor wird nach dem 2. Weltkrieg gekauft, aber noch Franz Ludwig Weninger lernte als Bub die Arbeit mit dem Pferd.


Die Dreschmaschine und Rosas Versprechen 
In den 1930er Jahren wird eine ziehbare Drehmaschine bestellt, welche auf Grund ihrer Größe und der dadurch auftretenden Manövrierunfähigkeit in Horitschons Gassen bei der Lieferung direkt wieder zurück geschickt wird. Nach einem Prozess, welchen der Urgroßvater Franz verliert, kommt der Betrieb unter den Hammer.
Nach 6 Jahren gelingt es dem im Jahr 1928 nach Amerika ausgewanderten „Onkel Franz“ allerdings, das Geld für die Rettung des Hofes aufzubringen. Im Jahr 1951 kam er erstmals auf Besuch, verzichtete auf den Hof und gab ihn Ludwig und Rosa. Aus Dankbarkeit verspricht meine Großmutter Rosa Onkel Franz, ihren ersten Sohn nach ihm zu taufen: 1983 übernimmt Franz Ludwig Weninger, der eigentlich aufgrund eines anderen Versprechens seiner Mutter Rosa Priester werden sollte, die elterliche Landwirtschaft.

Martina & Franz 

„Nach der Übernahme haben wir gemerkt, dass sich mit Spitzenweinen eine ganz andere Kundschaft als früher erreichen lässt“, erinnert sich Martina Weninger. Den lehmigen Boden in den besten Lagen Hochäcker, Kirchholz und Dürrau vergleicht Franz Ludwig Weninger gerne mit Pomerol. Beim Ausbau pflegt er eine ausdauernde Maischestandzeit.

Franz und Martina expandieren den Betrieb sehr stark. 1992 gründen sie ein Weingut in Südungarn zusammen mit Attila Gere (dzt. 12 Hektar), 1997 im grenznahen Sopron-Balf (dzt. 25 Hektar) und die elterliche Landwirtschaft in Horitschon wird im Laufe der Jahre zu einem reinen Weinbaubetrieb. Nach 28 Jahren erfolgreicher Tätigkeit übernimmt Sohn Franz Reinhard zusammen mit Petra den Stammbetrieb in Horitschon, nachdem er schon seit 2000 das Weingut in Sopron-Balf leitet.